Mumbai Branch - Highlights

Year Highlights

With the able co-operation of Late Mr.Phatak, Mr.P.B.Kulkarni, Dr.Kinjawadekar, Mr.Joshi, Late Mr.Sonar, Mr.Haribhau Varthak, Mr.Anantrao Namjoshi, a 1672.2 Sq. m land was obtained where the construction of the school building started.


Foundation of Vidya Bhawan School, Pre-primary and Primary English and Marathi Medium.


Mast. Yogesh Soman figured fourth in the Merit list of S.S.C Board Examination. The history of Vidya Bhawan was written in golden letters.


Vidya Bhawan was the only school in Ghatkopar to get 100% result in SSC Examination. The Principal Mr. K.N. Shirkande was honoured by Vice Chancellor of Mumbai University, Mrs.Mehru Benali on behalf of Lions Club of Ghatkopar.


1) 2045 Sq. mt. land was obtained by the well wishers of the institution.
2) Inauguration of Advance Computer Training Centre.
3) Principal Mr.K.N.Shirkande was appointed in the Regional Advisory
     Educational Committee by Association of Central Schools and
     Human Resource Development, Central Govt. New Delhi.
4) Inauguration of school”s Science club by Director of Nehru
     Planetorium Dr. Venkatvardhan.


1) Honourable Mr Vilasrao Deshmukh,then Minister for Industries
     Maharashtra State and Vice Chairman P.V.G’s visited the school.
2) Foundation of Junior College Science Faculty.


Inauguration of K.R. Subramaniam Physics Laboratory at the hands of the Vice Chairman Of Indian Institute of Bankers, Mr. Gohiporia.


Dr. Salim Zakaria Minister for Education, Maharashtra State was handed over an amount of 1 Lakh collected by studenst for the earthquake victims.


A 5833 sq. mt. land was available for the school expansion. PVG’s senior ex- student and former chairman Shri Appasaheb Gargate donated Rs. 1 lakh to the school. Thereby the foundation of Gargate hall of Vidya Bhawan was inaugurated. Due to unfortunate circumstances, Elizabeth High School of Chembur was closed. To solve the problem of the education of the students of that school Pune Vidya Bhawan took over Elizabeth School along with their students and teachers. The able cooperation of Mrs. Sanjivini Raikar and Mr. Prakash Mehta was available at this time of the hour.


The State Bank of India donated an amount of Rs. 8,14,000 for the expansion of computer division and upgrading of computers.


An amount of Rs. 80000 was handed over to Mr. Deshmukh Vice Chairman - Education for Kargil Fund.


Our Principal Mr. Shirkande received the Govt. of India’s National Teacher’s Award on 5th September at the hands of Honourable Vice - President Mr. Krishnakant at a function in New Delhi. Vidya Bhawan, primary Marathi section was the recipient of Ideal School Award given by Greater Mumbai Municipal School.Primary Headmistress Mrs. Rukmini Dixit received the award from president of Education Committee Mrs. Pranali Vedak. Nerul Branch was established which was a significant milestone in the progress of P.V.G.


For the 10th March Silver Jubilee Validictory Function Chief Guest was Mr. Vilasrao Deshmukh and MLA Mr. Prakash Mehta.


Ghatkopar branch started a Senior College of Technology. The courses provided include BSC IT and Computer Science.